Wildwood


Bascom Lamar Lunsford

A lawyer, folklorist, and performer of traditional bluegrass music from western North Carolina, Bascom Lamar Lunsford was a folk hero also known as the “Minstrel of the Appalachians.” Lunsford a prolific songwriter himself also spent time collecting the songs and dances of many performers of the Appalachian in order to bring dignity to “hillbilly music.”

 

I wish I was a mole in the ground
Yes I wish I was a mole in the ground
If I’s a mole in the ground I’d root that mountain down
And I wish I was a mole in the ground

Oh Tippy wants a nine dollar shawl
Yes Tippy wants a nine dollar shawl
When I come o’er the hill with a forty dollar bill
Baby where you been so long

I been in the bend so long
Yes I been in the bend so long
I been in the bend with the rough and rowdy men
Baby where you been so long

I wish I was a Mole in the Ground” first recorded by Lunsford in 1924

 

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

