Wildwood


Spring Fishing
April 12, 2010, 7:38 pm
Filed under: Angling | Tags: , ,

I was finally able to get out and do a bit of fishing this weekend up in Madison County on the Rapidan River. There were a lot of folks on the stream, by a lot I mean three others. However usually when I am out there I don’t see anyone else.

When I first arrived at one of the plunge pools there was a gent already fishing the stream, we spoke in a silent and universal angler sign language. He pointed one direction indicating he would be fishing downstream so I headed up. I started out casting a  blue winged olive and with good luck got several strikes before landing a small brookie.

So I had a bunch of good luck early on, caught about 4 trout, but as the temperature rose the brook trout seemed less and less interested in dry flies and since I was feeling too lazy to tie on a nymph and indicator I just stuck with the dry flies. And that is why I have no photo evidence of any of the beautiful spring brookies, maybe next time.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

