Wildwood


FJ-80
July 18, 2011, 8:15 pm
Filed under: Gear | Tags: , ,

I love Toyota Landcruisers, and have always wanted to own one. The indestructible truck that has long been favored by safari guides, every guerrilla drug lord, rogue researchers, and even UN convoys has always held a special place in my heart.

While I always thought I would get an older-older one like an FJ-60, when I came across this FJ-80 about a year ago I bought it up. I had been seriously considering a Vanagon at the time, another vehicle I will have to own one day,  but the price was just right on this rig.  The truck which, has over 200k on the tachometer,  drives great. That is to say it drives like it has already driven 200k miles and and probably will drive another 200k.  The interior is nothing to brag about, and the exterior…well if you like Landcruisers there isn’t much explanation needed. Oh and Mrs. WildWood and the dog really like it too.

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s a sharp 80. I’m in a love hate relationship with my FJ60, love the stoic build, classic lines, all that jazz…. hate the receipt at the pump, gets worse every year. It’s ticking along at 310,000 miles, no real reason to part with it yet.

Comment by Eugene Smith

Is that a ’91? That was a nice vintage, with the 6 still in it, better milage (and slow off the line) but without the luxury package that arrived in 93. Good choice.

Comment by Rob

Eugene, yeah I hear you, not to fun at the pump at all. Should be fun for awhile longer.

Comment by The WildWood

Uh, yes.

Comment by Jedd Rose




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

