Wildwood


The Parks in Your Backyard
June 22, 2011, 1:31 pm
Filed under: The Great Outdoors | Tags: ,

State Parks seem to be often over shadowed by the great National Parks system this country has, however chances are you live closer to a state park then a national one. I recently picked up an old National Geographic issue from 1961 that outlined some of the best state parks in our country by region at the time. The article mentioned state parks close to me like Hungry Mother State park that I didn’t even know existed.

The State Park’s article was of course inundated with the classic kodachrome pictures that the older National Geographic magazines are known for. I couldn’t help but to¬† scan and dump a handful here, you can see the rest of them here. Anyways I encourage you all to get out and visit your own state’s parks wherever you may be, there are probably some closer to where you live then you realize.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good point. Might I add that readers also consider our national monuments, national forests (and accompanying forest service campgrounds), wilderness areas, USFWS wildlife areas (usually no camping), nature preserves (state run; no camping), and BLM land. There is an entire universe of public land outside of the national parks.

Comment by jonathan Schlesinger

Great post and I hope a lot of people heed your advice. A few years ago I was gifted a book of Connecticut’s Best Hikes. At first I thought nothing of it due to the low mile hikes and lack of elevation; but once I started actually visiting these parks and protected forests I was amazed at my state’s landscape.

Comment by Angelo R.




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

