Wildwood


Camping Around the Appalachian Mountains
March 29, 2011, 7:57 pm
Filed under: Maps, The Great Outdoors | Tags: , , , ,

With summer in mind and the hope of getting out and doing some camping/hiking I thought I would share this book I recently picked up. Camping Around the Appalachian Mountains by Jim Crain and Terry Milne, published in 1975, it is a collection of beautifully hand drawn maps and useful tips for camping both on the Appalachian Trail and other parks around it.

An example of one of the maps found in the book, a favorite and close to home section of the trail.

Along with tips for camping there are also tons of suggestions on what to do and see while out camping, as if the simple act of camping and enjoying the Appalachians isn’t enough. Of course accompanying the advice are some excellent illustrations. The rest can be seen here.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, I really enjoy your site! There’s alot of great stuff on here, thanks for giving me something to do when I’m sitting around the house! Are you located on the east coast? I’m here in Roanoke, Virginia, right in the Appalachian Mountains.

Comment by John Winter

Oh my goodness, I’d love to have that book. What a great find. The Appalachians will always have a piece of my heart.

Comment by Courtney




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

