Wildwood


Buckshot
June 27, 2010, 3:15 pm
Filed under: Books, Friends | Tags: ,

Buckshot

This is the last time I write about birds. Birds, who cares about your wings? Who admires your feathers? Who keeps you from entering my windows? I do. Birds, with your distinct calls, and your disregard for my birthday, and your nests all around. Where were you when my salad sucked? Where were you when I headed out of town? You have let me down.

For the hunt I take hats. My rubber boots, too. I eat flapjacks in the smoky haze of my pipes, my corncob pipes. I clean guns, and check things. I hunt in the night, like a blind alligator, like a stunned mouse.

Goodbye, all you sounds, all you flaps, all you guns. Goodbye to my deer stand, glowing in the light of the things I have done.

poem by Natalie Lyalin

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] from Natalie Lyalin can be found here and also at her blog where you can find more of her writing and links to her books. Like [...]

Pingback by The Occidental Mountains « Wildwood




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

