Wildwood


"Peacock" Pocket Warmer
December 15, 2009, 1:11 pm
Filed under: Gear, Outdoors | Tags:

Bought this Peacock pocket warmer at a yard sale over the summer and now since the weather has become so cold I might actually get a chance to use it. Handwarmers like this one are definitely an older technology. Essentially they are a smoldering ball of fueled soaked cotton in a metal case that you stick in your pocket and hope you don’t catch on fire while fishing.  Either way they are beautiful objects and better then carrying one of those chemical sack handwarmers in your pocket.

The shiny Peacock comes in a purple crush velvet case that after its lit you put it back into before stuffing it into your pocket.

While I haven’t used this yet I’m thinking about getting some lighter fluid and giving it a try next time I go fishing, hopefully I won’t catch fire.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

that’s rad! is it dangerous? it looks amazing, regardless.

Comment by natalie

I have a warmer with the exact same design of holes, but it only says “Patent No. 249642 268916.” It belonged to my grandfather, circa 1950.

Comment by phil

Hi are you willing to sell this? Iam interested, thanks, D

Comment by Deerlover

I have 3. One is a Peacock large, a JC Higgins and I don’t know but the last one is made in Hong Kong. All belonged to my 87 year old father before he passed away

Comment by Jan

I found one of these under my grandfather’s porch. It has the patent number but also says “made in occupied Japan.” Any thoughts about its age?

Comment by J. Hirzel

Japan was occupied by the Allies from 1945 to 1952. I also have one of these. Mine has never been used and has the box, instructions, spare burner, fill cup and velvet pouch. It is valued around $25.00. This type of hand warmer is still available. Zippo still makes them.

Comment by Frank

J Hirzel, you know I dont know much about these old pocket warmers. I found mine at a yard sale last summer. The one you found sounds pretty interesting, especially with the “made in occupied Japan” written on it. Wonder if that indicates it was made during WWII?

Comment by nbolton

hi i also have one of these pocket warmers and was wondering if you know the age of them thanks pam

Comment by pam isedale

Hey Pam, I really dont know how old it is, pretty sure its from the 60’s. I have a look at it and see if there are any date markings on the packaging or warmer itself

Comment by nbolton

Have in my possession a chrome “Peacock” brand pocket warmer. Made in Japan. Has Japan patent#463177 printed on it. Never used till tonight. Filled it w/lighter fluid and works great. My Question to you…With info engraved: Japan pat.463177 on one side and PEACOCK MADE IN JAPAN on the other, I would like to know its net worth. I am interested in selling. “any takers?” Thanks Jennifer

Comment by Jennifer

They sell on eBay for about $20.00

Comment by Frank

I have one of these brand new. not used. Would one of these be worth

Comment by Valerie Noseworthy

is is possible to buy just the burner element please

Comment by colin froggatt

This item was invented by a Japanese guy in the 1920’s and it works by a chemical reaction between platinumm and the fuel. You use the flame only when lighting it just to get the reaction going. Once it is going, it is totally flameless and no worry that you catch fire or anything. A giant version of this was used during WW2 to keep aircraft engines from freezing in Machurian winters. Obviously, you don’t want to use flame to keep engines warm, especially not WW2 Japanese engines which tended to leak oil and fuel all the time.

Comment by Harry




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

