Wildwood


Packs According to Leon L. Bean
September 23, 2009, 8:59 am
Filed under: Books, Gear

These drawings of various pack types come from the LL Bean Guide to the Outdoors, a book which I have written about before.

Designs for classic packs like the Duluth and also specific bags for taking on river trips in the canoe. Also Archival Clothing just wrote about vintage Duluth packs and has a link to some other great images.

Detailed drawing of and external frame backpack and the various types of frames available. You have to love the old aluminum external frame packs.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The frameless weekend pack looks great. Gotta search one out. I just scored an old LL Bean duffle. Stoked.

Comment by newgrass

Yeah it is pretty nice. By the way I really like those canvas bags you made. After I saw them I began trying to talk my wife into sewing me a pack if I can find the pattern.

Comment by nbolton

LL Bean makes great stuff. I bought my favorite coat up there in Freeport.

Alex Carleton (he designs for Rogues Gallery) is designing a new line for them. Should be out in March 2010.

http://www.llbeansignature.com/

Comment by eric

[...] Guide to the Outdoors, Leon L Bean It got wet and cold down here real quick yesterday. As I have posted before, here are some thoughts and examples from Leon L Bean and the Guide to the Outdoors and the subject [...]

Pingback by The Outer Layers According to Leon L. Bean «

[...] Links 10 Engines 2 or 3 Things I Know A Restless Transplant Apples on Fire Archival Clothing Bibliodyssey Born to be Nervous Cold Splinters Fine Little Day hi-and-low Indian Summer Vintage Inventory Invisible Ear Press JJJJound Making Owls Cool Men and Women of Industry naturalismo New Grass Nothing Is New Old Chum One-Up-Manship Our Life In Common Ready 4 The House REFERENCE LIBRARY secret forts The Cleanist Line The Selvedge Yard Bean Boot November 24, 2009, 9:53 am Filed under: Wearables | Tags: Bean Boot, ll bean, maine hunting shoe Its been pretty wet these past few weeks and anytime I step into the mud pit which is our backyard I have found myself wearing these boots. They are known at the Maine Hunting Shoes, duck boots, or Bean boots, whatever you call them they are rugged and do a damn good job of keeping your feet dry. Here are some images pulled from the L.L. Bean Guide to the Outdoors. [...]

Pingback by Bean Boot «

[...] under: Gear, The Great Outdoors | Tags: L.L. Bean, Leon L Bean, Snowshoes I felt is was time for another installment of the world according to Leon L Bean, and seeing that it is sill very much winter out there, I [...]

Pingback by Snowshoes According to Leon L Bean « Wildwood

[...] image font:  the LL Bean Guide to the Outdoors [...]

Pingback by typology « . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

